One of those hard things about moving around

When you’re young you think about how awesome it would be to live in a bunch of cities and be worldly or something like that. You list the cities and stare at maps longing to be somewhere else. As much fun as moving around all the time is it’s actually really hard as so many digital nomads who crashed and burned have learned.

One of the hardest things about moving around is you show up somewhere and you start to meet people and get involved with stuff. But in the back of your head you know that in three or six months you will leave and never see any of these people again. Relationships and activities take a long time to build up and every time I’ve lived abroad I’ve felt like I was just getting settled in when it was time to pack up and start again. I loved all the places I’ve lived and the perspective they give me but by the end of my time in Edinburgh what I wanted more than anything was to just be somewhere and build a life.

I’m writing this now because I just got an email from an event I did photography for while I was in Edinburgh. The festival is rolling around again and they want me to come back. I would but I’m on another continent so it’s a bit tricky. While I have stuff here it’s hard not to feel a bit bummed out because the event was really fun. I’d love to go back and see people and have those relationships. You have to be somewhere for a while to do that.

Leave a Reply

