Unicorns

Unicorns are the national animal of Scotland, which is pretty badass. Wales also has a mythical beast as its national animal. Canada has the beaver and a horse. (The horse thing I don’t get.)

The University of Edinburgh is a surprisingly international university to the point where many of the people I’ve talked to don’t have any Scottish or UK students in their programs. I was expecting there to be a lot of Canadians, Americans and students from Asia but I also thought that some people from the UK would be here.

Due to the rarity of seeing or meeting Scottish students my roommate has started joking that they are unicorns. A mythical and rare creature that one would like to see and some are skeptical exist.

There is one Scottish student and a student from near Newcastle in my program. Otherwise I like the mix of people and perspectives. It reminds me a lot of my exchange. I met a lot of people from a lot of places. Sadly, only a handful of them were locals. There are a lot of Scottish and British students at Herriot-Watt where we are doing our first semester classes. That is one of the upsides of doing a joint program. The bureaucracy is confusing but you get exposed to more.

I hope that by joining lots of societies and clubs I’ll be able to find some opportunities to bond with locals. My plan was that since we speak more or less the same language it would be easier than on my exchange.

Leave a Reply

