The long view

I have had glasses since a young age. I was not a huge fan of this development in elementary school. It began with glasses and a lazy eye. From what my parents say I was kicked out by the first optometrist I visited because I refused to cooperate. I used to scream and kick when my parents tried to cut my fingernails because I hated how it felt. I remember my mother telling me she was worried that a neighbour would call child services it was so bad.

We then found the optometrist that I have been seeing for the last twenty years and she seemed to be able to deal with me. I was given glasses, which I frequently broke and hated wearing. I also had a lazy eye. I was supposed to wear an eye patch and do homework. For obvious reasons wearing an eye patch and doing my homework had limited appeal for me. The patch was dorky but more than that I found it difficult to read with my bad eye. It was not a successful treatment plan.

I was recently doing some content creation work for an optometrist office, which got me thinking about what was wrong with my eyes. In all those years I’d never asked and didn’t remember being told exactly what was wrong with them. I was handed a prescription and that was that. I was pretty sure I was not near-sighted as is often suggested to me. I can’t see particularly well close up. Mostly I have trouble reading. I also didn’t think I was far-sighted because it didn’t seem like I was particularly good at reading far away either.

This time around I did figure it out. As dull as content creation and research could be it was also a job where I learned a lot about random topics because they were assigned to me. I liked the optometry ones best because the information seemed like it actually applied to my life. As someone who is far-sighted I am at an elevated risk for glaucoma and I actually know what glaucoma is.

It seems I am far-sighted and good at compensating for my poor vision. For most of my childhood I thought that I could see fine and had no need for my glasses. This explains why I have trouble reading signs and writing on walls. If I visit a museum without my glasses I don’t even bother with the writing on the walls. Now that I know a lot more about optometry it’s easy to put together some of those details and think more about my eyes and how they work (or don’t as the case may be).

Leave a Reply

