You’ve been good boots

Yesterday I went hiking with my sister. It was a fun hike near Lake Louise that was a bit physically grueling from my perspective and lame from the perspective of robot hiker. One day she’ll find some hiking buddies that are as intrepid as her and I will find hiking buddies who are as slow and lame as I am.

I wore my old solid hiking boots instead of my new one size up version of my travel hiking boots. They fit me really well when I bought them but they’ve hurt my feet on the last couple of hikes. Sadly I think that is going to be the last time I wear them. They’ve been good boots but the time has come to say good bye. I can’t afford to and don’t want to buy a new pair of water proof ankle high hiking boots. They cost a pretty penny and they’re too heavy to pack. Instead I’ll be down to my light hikers and will have to see how they do. I like the solidness of having waterproof boots with ankle support but the other shoes are light and can be worn around in normal conditions.

Dear boots: you’ve been good and I will miss you. My right foot wanted me to tell you that it is no longer speaking to you.

Leave a Reply

