Prompt

One of the downsides of moving to a new blog is that you lose all of the infrastructure you built around the old one(s). All those followers and posts disappear into the void. Some follow you to your new home but most don’t.

My most successful post on the Last Northbound Train Has Gone was about killing my mother’s plants. It was based off a 642 Things to Write About prompt. It’s still around but whatever was driving that traffic was severed, at least for now.

It’s kind of strange how that works out. I found it strange how popular it was so that evens out. It’s here if you want to read it. (Apparently it didn’t transfer over and didn’t exist and that’s why it hasn’t been getting views.)

I’m a fan of writing prompts. They’re a challenge of sorts. They’re also useful when you don’t know what to write about.

I’m not as into 642 Things to Write About anymore. Maybe I used up all the prompts I really liked. I found a tiny version at Chapters today and was very tempted to buy it. If I had unlimited space I would. As it is I have a folder full of notes and ideas to get through and the Songza Stories I’ve been meaning to get back into.

Leave a Reply

