Working at night

I’ve been doing a freelance writing gig for a few months now. Every week I get a list of things I need to write. This happens on Tuesday or Wednesday. I have to have it in by the end of the day on Sunday. That’s all the structure and rules there are to it.

Sometimes I do it all in one day. It is really painful to do that and I try to avoid it. The best set up is to do it half and half over a couple of days.

The other thing I’ve finally come to accept is that I can only really do this work at night. I try to do it in the morning but generally I’m pretty useless in the mornings. It’s not a good time for me to be doing anything meaningful. When I tell myself I’m going to work on it in the afternoon I fritter away the time and then end up mad at myself for wasting time. Starting at 4:00 p.m. is ideal. This week I decided not to fight it. I did other stuff during the day. My stuff and projects. I worked on my ever growing to do list. Then when I knew I would be able to write and have the motivation of only having enough time to finish if I did work I actually did my work.

I hope this pattern does carry on into grad school. Partially because nights are social times, not work times for most people. Writing Friday nights isn’t exactly the most obvious set up for a 20-something writer but it gives me my weekends.

Leave a Reply

