Driving

I’ve been afraid to drive again since getting back. I never really liked driving and wasn’t really in a hurry to do it. Part of why I moved to Vancouver was that I was sick of living somewhere with lousy transit where I feel like I have to drive everywhere. Vancouver let me live that wonderful car free lifestyle that I wanted.

I do know that if I am going to live in Calgary I really have no choice but to drive and that half the appeal of being here is that I can take my parents car to the mountains. So I finally got around to driving and surprisingly it was really easy. It all came back to me and felt naturally. I was thinking of just driving around the neighbourhood but ended up going further. Apparently it’s just like riding a bicycle: your body just remembers how to do it.

Leave a Reply

