My month in books: May 2015

No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now – As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It, and Long for It by Craig Taylor
Hope in Shadows: Stories and Photographs of Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside by Brad Cran, Gillian Jerome
Moomin, Vol. 4 by Tove Jansson
Hawkeye, Vol. 2: Little Hits by Matt Fraction
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
Moomin, Vol. 5 by Tove Jansson
Appleby House by Sylvia Smith
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
Our Songbirds: A Songbird for Every Week of the Year by Matt Sewell

May was an okay month for books. I’ve had months where I’ve read more but I read a few books and most of them were good. I got busy with moving and being sick and watching Netflix. I remain ill (because the fates are not being kind at the moment) but I am done moving. I am also done with The Mindy Project so maybe I’ll read more this month.

I read No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July because I was curious about her. The Last Bad Man seemed very popular but had an infinite number of holds at the library. Instead I went for another one of her books and got this. It was good for the most part but she is strange. Very strange. An odd bird. The type of writer that leaves you exclaiming what and looking incredulous frequently.

Ah London. The city with which my mother is obsessed. Seriously man she never thinks about going on vacation anywhere else and I never stop making faces at her and suggesting that she branch out. I’ve been there a few times and Sister used to live there. I like it but it’s big and expensive. I’ve been wanting to read Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now – As Told by Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It, and Long for It by Craig Taylor for a good long while. It has a pretty cover and seems interesting. That’s how you select a boyfriend right so it works for books? It was interesting and I learned some cool stuff. I don’t care what the haters say oral histories can be fun.

Speaking of oral histories Hope in Shadows: Stories and Photographs of Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside by Brad Cran and Gillian Jerome. This is a cool photography project done in Vancouver. I don’t really want a calendar, which is what it’s usually sold as but the book was fun. (For the record I usually purchase Megaphone so it’s just the lack of usefullness of a calendar getting in the way.) I learned some things and looked at some pretty pictures. There were many tales. Many were sad. But they were also resilient and vibrant and funny.

I’ve finished Moomin vol. 4 and Moomin vol. 5 and I’m ready for a Moomin break. They’re fun and it’s great snapchat material but meh. I’m not digging the antics as much as I was.

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 9.58.02 PM

I continued on with Hawkeye, Vol. 2: Little Hits by Matt Fraction the last of what’s available from the comic series my lovely friend recommended for me. It was good just like the first. Hawkeye is very different from the Avengers character. I like him better here.

I read the Sandman graphic novels in high school and loved them as one does. I also turn to Neil Gaiman as an inspiration in times when I feel like my creative projects are going nowhere and I am wasting away in life. He gives good advice to aspiring writers and is an interesting man. I don’t always love his short stories because they can be weird and/or creepy. Otherwise I think he knows how to tell a story. I’ve been meaning to read his books and finally got around to that when I found a cheap copy of Anansi Boys at a used bookstore on The Drive. It was good. Very clever. Witty as one would expect with a plot that delicately wove it’s way home.

My parents came to visit for a few days before returning me to Calgary via truck. I obviously brought them to various bookstores and in one I picked out The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman and my mother bought it for me because she has never said no to buying us books. It was quite good. Similar to Anansi Boys I found. Lots about stories and adventure and life and being an introvert in a world that doesn’t always know what to do with people who live in their heads and want to do creative things. I enjoyed it.

I acquired Appleby House by Sylvia Smith when I stumbled upon the Vancouver Public Library booksale and somehow ended up buying four books. One was old and looked cool. Three were like you know you want to read me and I was like yeah. The advantage of moving by truck is you can always shove more books into your boxes and no angry attendants charge you money for it. It was a good book. The kind of book that makes me be like I should write something like that. It was about a house that Smith lived in and her roommates. I myself am collecting house and roommate stories for future use. Any interested publishers let me know.

Once described as the Banksy of birds — I have no idea what that is supposed to mean — Matt Sewell does lovely bits and illustrations of birds. I saw one of his books at a market while visiting Sister a while back but didn’t buy it. I added it to Goodreads and left it for the fates to guide me back to. It did because Our Songbirds: A Songbird for Every Week of the Year is the highest rated of every single one of the 2,000 or so books I have on Goodreads. Sadly no libraries seem to have it so I had to order it — I have a stop being bitter with the library and just order it already policy. He has more books that I will one day get to.

Leave a Reply

