Good night sweet Georgia Brown

I grew up in awe of John Steinbeck and Will Eisner. Their writing was beautiful and was at its best when it was inspired by a particular place. Eisner wrote about the tenements in New York City. He captured their spirit and told their stories. Steinbeck was in love with the Salinas valley. He was at his best when he was talking about the places he loved and the people who inhabited them.

Image

When I came to D.C. I expected it to be a drab capital. I had no idea it was going to be so vibrant and alive. Maybe I just got lucky after I got unlucky. When I first searched for housing I had no idea what I was doing and thought that it didn’t make a difference where I lived. I could not have been more wrong. My move to Columbia Heights/Petworth was one of the best choices I ever made. It seems that after all where you live is a huge part of how you live and could not be more important. These places shape us and change us. They become a part of our identity and how we spend our time.

I have truly fallen for this place. I love walking the streets. I love saying hi to my neighbours. I love living somewhere that is so alive. I love that all of the licence plates say taxation without representation and all the streets are named after other places. I love the corner stores with faded signs, and mismatched patio furniture on balconies.

Across the street from my house there is a window that says “Goodnight sweet Georgia Brown” in big blocky letters hand drawn on construction paper. I play this in my head as I drive to the airport.

Leave a Reply

